User Editable Help

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets
dwag
Sr. Propeller Head

User Editable Help

Post by dwag »

I'm new to Flare and was wondering whether the product provides user-editable help?
KevinDAmery
Propellus Maximus

Re: User Editable Help

Post by KevinDAmery »

User's can't edit the help in the help environment. Depending on which output format you use and how it is installed, they may be able to edit the files (for example, if you build WebHelp the output is in HTML, so any HTML or text editor could be used as long as the users have the help system on their local drives). Having said that, it isn't a Wiki so users would have to know how to find the appropriate file and how to edit it in a way that would not break other functionality in the help system.

You could also look into Feedback server if you want a way for customers to be able to make suggestions or ask for clarification.

How do you see user-editable help being used in your case?
Until next time....
Kevin Amery
Certified MAD for Flare
dwag
Sr. Propeller Head

Post by dwag »

Thanks for the prompt reply. It's pretty much what I suspected. I write help for public administration software. The way customers use the software can vary; consequently, some have asked about the ability to edit various process writeups.

Thanks, again, for the response.
Richard Ferrell
Propellus Maximus

Post by Richard Ferrell »

I would recommend Feedback server also in this case, You can Feedack setup so that the user comments appear below your topic so your users could leave thier own processes.
Richard Ferrell

Certified Madcap Trainer
royj
Propeller Head

Post by royj »

dwag wrote:Thanks for the prompt reply. It's pretty much what I suspected. I write help for public administration software. The way customers use the software can vary; consequently, some have asked about the ability to edit various process writeups.