Why can I not split up a page?

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets
EdlineTS
Propeller Head

Why can I not split up a page?

Post by EdlineTS »

Hello,
I am a newbie, so please forgive me if the answer to this is obvious. I am including a diagram because I know of no other way to explain this. I am trying to put a table (not just extend the table on the left with more columns) to the right of the current table that says "Internet Explorer for PC". I cannot figure out what I am doing wrong. Every time I place a table in my page, it goes BELOW the current table, and not to the right side (see the red text in my image).

Any ideas?
Thanks,
Rob
LTinker68
Master Propellus Maximus

Re: Why can I not split up a page?

Post by LTinker68 »

In order to be able to do what you want to do currently in Flare, you'd need to create a table with one row and two cells. In cell 1 you'd create a new table with as many rows/columns as you want, and in cell 2 you'd create yet another table with as many rows/columns as you want. So you're nesting tables inside other tables. Alternatively, you could create two DIVs and put tables inside each, but if you're outputting to Word then it won't work because Word doesn't recognize the DIV tag, so I recommend the container table method.

I haven't played with the Blaze beta trial yet, but from what I understand, there are better layout tools so that you can insert columns and then you'd insert a table in each column. Not sure how that'll work online -- I'm guessing it'll automatically create DIVs.

Anyway, in the meantime you'll have to use the tables-within-a-table method I described above. (BTW, make sure you don't set width or height values on the containing table or its cells -- let the innermost tables control the size of the container table.)

Lisa
Eagles may soar, but weasels aren't sucked into jet engines.
Warning! Loose nut behind the keyboard.
EdlineTS
Propeller Head