Need advice on Topic names (I'm a WebHelp newbie)

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets
beagley
Sr. Propeller Head

Need advice on Topic names (I'm a WebHelp newbie)

Post by beagley »

If your WebHelp system contains several products that might perform similar functions, how do you name your topics?

Here's a sample WebHelp Table of Contents:

-Product A
--Posting Charges with Product A
--Parrying with Product A
--Product A Setup and Installation
-Product B
--Posting Charges with Product B
--Product B Mayhem
--Product B Setup and Installation

You see the problem? I'm repeating the product name in the topic titles. I feel like I HAVE to, because this is single-sourcing and those topics have to stand alone no matter where they are included, right? but since I have the friendly TOC, I think, "Setup and Installation" is a perfectly fine topic title by itself. I want to DROP the product title. But then I'd have TWO topics in my help system called "Setup and Installation." Isn't that a bad idea?

All advice welcome. This problem is HUGE for me (multiply the above problem by 100). I have these long list of topics and "Setup and Installation" or "Posting Charges" seems to make so much more sense than tacking on the product name to EVERY topic title. With long product names, it gets ridiculous! But then, maybe that's because I'm coming at this from a "single, long manual" point of view...

Alternative that I just thought of while typing this: Maybe the TOC should just say, "Posting Charges", since the book title will clearly illustrate that it is a sub-category... but the H1 of the topic should say, "Posting Charges with Product A"?
KevinDAmery
Propellus Maximus

Re: Need advice on Topic names (I'm a WebHelp newbie)

Post by KevinDAmery »