dynsrc

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets
Post Reply
Philipp_Strazny
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:29 pm

dynsrc

Post by Philipp_Strazny »

When Flare generates webhelps, it replaces
<object...>
<embed ... />
</object>
constructs for embedded video with a
<dynsrc.../>
construct. This is a bad choice, because object/embed are much more widely supported than dynsrc, which only works in IE.
Is there any way to turn this off, so I can generate webhelps for a Linux/Firefox/Mplayer target platform without having to undo this replacement in the output?

Thanks,
Philipp
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus
Posts: 4293
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:29 am
Location: The Electric City

Re: dynsrc

Post by RamonS »

Please file a bug report for this as it is apparently non-standard HTML and clearly should never ever be in any WebHelp output from Flare (I guess QA didn't bother to run tests with a validator).
File bugs here:
https://www.madcapsoftware.com/bugs/submit.aspx

In the short term I cannot think of any other option than to edit the output after generation and fix the bad code.
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus
Posts: 4293
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:29 am
Location: The Electric City

Re: dynsrc

Post by RamonS »

I tried this out using the example from here:
http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewCon ... Id=tn_4150

Pasting that code into a topic and compiling WebHelp didn't do anything to that code. The code didn't work since it couldn't find the flash file, but that is a different issue I guess. Can you paste an example of a complete code block that you noticed Flare changes? Also, which version of Flare did this happen in? I used Flare 4.2.
Philipp_Strazny
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:29 pm

Re: dynsrc

Post by Philipp_Strazny »

Hi Ramon,
I just noticed an error in my first post. The replacement is not a <dynsrc> tag, but <img dynsrc="..."/>. Sorry about that - I had written from memory.
In any case - I just upgraded to Flare 4.2 and the behavior is still the same. I set up a test project for you w/ one file that loads an avi. When you compile a webhelp, you'll see that the <object...>...</object> code was replaced with <img dynsrc.../> and the video doesn't work in Firefox anymore.
Thanks,
Philipp
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus
Posts: 4293
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:29 am
Location: The Electric City

Re: dynsrc

Post by RamonS »

Confirmed! I built the project you attached and I get the same results. The weird part is that Flare apparently makes a difference as to what the contents are of the <embed> tag. Using my flash example it worked fine, using the avi example in your project I get the illegal IE only code. And it must be Flare who puts it in there since there is no dynsrc in the source files. Now, I wonder if you really need all this shebang that you put around the .avi reference. I found that web browsers are quite capable of figuring out what to do with the popular formats. Or is this necessary because the .avi uses a special compression?

In any case, I took it up with MadCap support already, but you really should file a bug report as well if you haven't already done so.
Philipp_Strazny
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:29 pm

Re: dynsrc

Post by Philipp_Strazny »

Hi Ramon,
I am a localizer working for a translation agency. The original code comes from my client and was generated in RoboHelp. It may very well be that RH puts in redundant stuff, but regardless - if Flare "fixes" code, it should certainly not do so using IE-only code.
You say that you can use swf instead of avi without a problem, but you are using a different code structure, i.e. you are not just replacing test.avi with test.swf, right?
Philipp
Philipp_Strazny
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:29 pm

Re: dynsrc

Post by Philipp_Strazny »

oh, I did file a bug report
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus
Posts: 4293
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:29 am
Location: The Electric City

Re: dynsrc

Post by RamonS »

I used the exact example from the Adobe site. That one works fine.
Post Reply