No TOC in HTML5 Tripane using Flare 11

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets

No TOC in HTML5 Tripane using Flare 11

Postby SueBee on Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:42 pm

Hi, all. I just converted a huge Robohelp project to Flare 11 and we need to use the Tripane skin because of our menus -- too many topics for the Top Navigation skin (which mostly works). Test conversions with Flare 10 worked fine, but with version 11, our page-level help only shows the topic pane, not the header or accordion pane on the side. Well, actually, when I preview the help within Flare it looks fine, but when opening the context sensitive help from the application is the problem. As mentioned before, all that opens is the help topic and there is not even any link or button (like there was in Robohelp) to open the topic in the skin.

Is this a problem with the skin? Or the setup? I'm not very technical, unfortunately, but trying to learn. I've searched the forum and the Flare help to no avail.

When I had this problem at first with Flare 10, checking "Do not use Content folder" in output fixed the problem. Just in case, I renamed my Flare content folder to Content Properties, based on a post I read where that was necessary. No change.

I'm very new to Flare, so I'm sorry if there is a very simple answer to this question.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Sue
SueBee
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:02 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Re: No TOC in HTML5 Tripane using Flare 11

Postby Dave Lee on Sat Mar 12, 2016 1:56 am

SueBee wrote:but when opening the context sensitive help from the application is the problem


How are you opening the help?

If you just open the topic directly, you'll not see the skin; e.g.
http://webhelp.madcapsoftware.com/flare10/Content/CSH/HTML5_CSH_Calls/CSH_Calls_HTML5_Developers.htm

You have to open the help using Flare's CSH; the URL format includes the path to your 'main' help file and the topic to display; e.g.
http://webhelp.madcapsoftware.com/flare10/Default.htm#CSH/HTML5_CSH_Calls/CSH_Calls_HTML5_Developers.htm

Also, for CSH you could use an alias (identifier) rather than a path to the topic; e.g.
http://webhelp.madcapsoftware.com/flare10/Default.htm#cshid=Alias_Editor
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5790
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK

Re: No TOC in HTML5 Tripane using Flare 11

Postby SueBee on Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:28 am

A very belated thank you for your answer. At the time I was overwhelmed, which is no excuse but is a reason I didn't get back on here to say thank you, Dave Lee.
SueBee
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:02 pm
Location: Florida, USA


Return to Web-based Outputs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests