Missing Image

This forum is for all Flare issues related to styles, stylesheets and XML.
Post Reply
djmmuir
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 8:35 am

Missing Image

Post by djmmuir »

I can't figure out where some of the images come from. I enabled Glossary terms and the MadCap | glossaryTerm style includes the following images but those are not built with the help.

mc-closed-image: Images/WebHelp/ExpandingClosed.gif
mc-open-image: Images/WebHelp/ExpandingOpen.gif

This results in an broken image link even though I think I am using all the default settings.

There are plenty of other standard icons in that folder on the output, but I have no idea where they are coming from since they are not in my Content/Resources/Images source folder.

--------- Edit with a bit more information:
The actual missing image may be the MC Help-Control-Icon which I think is transparent.gif. In any case, the same questions remain: where do these images come from and where should they be in a default (factory) installation/project.
ajturnersurrey
Sr. Propeller Head
Posts: 346
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 3:30 am

Re: Missing Image

Post by ajturnersurrey »

The default images are with your installation files, in my case in C:\Program Files\MadCapSoftware\Madcap Flare 15\Flare.app\Resources\Images\WebHelp
but you can point to any other image you want to use by altering your stylesheet.
djmmuir
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 8:35 am

Re: Missing Image

Post by djmmuir »

So it turns out the images I thought were broken were fine. I was thrown off by the alt text that said "Closed". In fact the problem is thus:

By default (from the factory:
<img class="MCHelpControl_Image_Icon" src="../../../../Skins/Default/Stylesheets/Images/transparent.gif" height="11" width="16" alt="Closed" data-mc-alt2="Open">

What actually works:
<img class="MCHelpControl_Image_Icon" src="../../../../HTML5/Skins/Default/Stylesheets/Images/transparent.gif" height="11" width="16" alt="Closed" data-mc-alt2="Open">

I'm not sure how this is resolved at build time, but I consider this a bug. Can anyone tell me how to fix this even if I have to change Madcap's texteffects.css ? I added and subtracted a ( ../ ) level and it didn't seem to change anything.
djmmuir
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 8:35 am

Re: Missing Image

Post by djmmuir »

Here is the solution I used so I didn't have to change anything else. I used the following post-build event commands (on Windows):

Code: Select all

mkdir "$(OutputDirectory)..\Skins\Default\Stylesheets\Images"
copy "$(OutputDirectory)Skins\Default\Stylesheets\Images\transparent.gif" "$(OutputDirectory)..\Skins\Default\Stylesheets\Images\transparent.gif"
If you're not starting with a blank output directory, this results in a "subdirectory already exists" error in the build log on subsequent builds. But I was happy enough with the results.
SandraWitte
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:52 am

Re: Missing Image

Post by SandraWitte »

We have the same problem too. We consider it as a bug.
This is our work-around:

Ad to your general style sheet the following by using the classes of all tool bar buttons you added in your skin:
.previous-topic-button > img,
.next-topic-button > img,
.remove-highlight-button > img,
.print-button > img
{
display: none;
}

Has someone reported it to madcap?
dmiller
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:00 am

Re: Missing Image

Post by dmiller »

I'm having the same problem and will report it as a bug. Has anyone noticed if this happens in specific browsers or build types? For us it's in Chrome only.
dmiller
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:00 am

Re: Missing Image

Post by dmiller »

Hello Again,

I'm working with tech support on this isseue and wondering if anyone has more details to share. Browser, Flare version, ciricumstances, etc.? Thanks!
nhhale
Propeller Head
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:24 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Missing Image

Post by nhhale »

I've reported this issue, too, and am told that it has been submitted as a bug report. I'm waiting to hear if there's any suggested workaround or fix in the works.
Nancy Hutson Hale
Director, Education Services
SalesPage Technologies
http://www.salespage.com
Certified MAD for Flare
Flareon
Propeller Head
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:18 am

Re: Missing Image

Post by Flareon »

Thanks for posting the post-build event code. This fixed the problem for me!
Post Reply