Removing Search Bar Drop Down - HTML5 output

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets

Removing Search Bar Drop Down - HTML5 output

Postby dizzo on Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:14 am

I am customizing our HTML 5 skin for our online help, and I cannot figure out how to remove the menu from the search bar. Does anyone one know where to remove those menu items from in the Skin editor? The skin editor does not show the menu, but when I generate help, there is it. Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
dizzo
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:47 am

Re: Removing Search Bar Drop Down - HTML5 output

Postby Dave Lee on Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:36 am

It appears because you've set a Search Filter on the target; see the target Advanced tab.
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5996
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK

Re: Removing Search Bar Drop Down - HTML5 output

Postby dizzo on Mon Nov 03, 2014 8:13 am

Thank you - that was it! Cheers. :D
dizzo
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:47 am

Re: Removing Search Bar Drop Down - HTML5 output

Postby WriterAndrew on Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:00 am

I have the same question - how to remove the Search Filter dropdown from my brand-new, creating it straight from the MadCap TopNav templates project. When I look in the Target > Advanced > Search filters, the only option is
Code: Select all
Default
, and the edit button is greyed out.
So, in a brand new project, how do I remove the Search Filter dropdown?
Thanks
WriterAndrew
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 2:43 am

Re: Removing Search Bar Drop Down - HTML5 output

Postby Dave Lee on Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:57 am

If you created a project from the template, then it already contains a search filter file.

If your target is set to "(Default)" that means "use whatever search filter file you can find".
There isn't a "none" option in the target, so if a search filter exists, it'll get used.

To remove it, go to Project Organizer and delete the search filter file.
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5996
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK

Re: Removing Search Bar Drop Down - HTML5 output

Postby jcollins on Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:20 pm

I ran into a similar problem recently. I have a Search Filter set defined that I want to include in one HTML5 target from my project, but in another HTML5 target from the same project, I don't want to include any Search filters. I finally solved this by creating an empty Filter set and selecting that in my target, and creating a separate set of search bar skins/styles that exclude the filter. It seems like a kludgey solution, but it worked.
jcollins
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:00 pm


Return to Web-based Outputs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Curlyshell and 5 guests