Flare 2020 MCDropDown image bug

This forum is for all Flare issues not related to any of the other categories.

Flare 2020 MCDropDown image bug

Postby tagalong on Thu May 21, 2020 11:16 am

I'm evaluating Flare 2020 before the rest of our small dev team updates from 2019, and have encountered a bug that seems to be integral to this version. For the DropDown image icon (class MCDropDown_Image_Icon) I believe that a link to a transparent image in the dropdown is pointing to the wrong place (and therefore generating alt text for Open and Closed, which normally shouldn't be generated).

The build log lists an error:
Link points outside project file (Error ID 10056)

There is code in the final output pages with a reference to a transparent.gif which isn't anywhere in our source project :

Code: Select all
<img class="MCDropDown_Image_Icon" src="../../../Skins/Default/Stylesheets/Images/transparent.gif" alt="Closed" data-mc-alt2="Open" width="16" height="11">


But I believe it should be:
Code: Select all
<img class="MCDropDown_Image_Icon" src="../../Skins/Default/Stylesheets/Images/transparent.gif" alt="Closed" data-mc-alt2="Open" width="16" height="11">


one directory higher (or one less "../")

Can you please verify if this is an issue with Madcap source?
tagalong
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 12:25 pm

Re: Flare 2020 MCDropDown image bug

Postby SteveS on Thu May 21, 2020 3:26 pm

Hi,

Welcome to the forums.

This is a peer to peer forum, although the folk from Madcap drop in from time to time.

You can lodge bug reports here: here
Image
Steve
Life's too short for bad coffee, bad chocolate, and bad red wine.
SteveS
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 2032
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:06 pm
Location: Adelaide, far side of the world ( 34°56'0.78\"S 138°46'44.28\"E).

Re: Flare 2020 MCDropDown image bug

Postby tagalong on Fri May 22, 2020 6:12 am

Sorry, I didn't know there was a separate bug resource. Report submitted.
tagalong
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 12:25 pm

Re: Flare 2020 MCDropDown image bug

Postby nhhale on Thu Aug 20, 2020 7:57 am

FWIW, I've logged this as a bug with MadCap, too.
Nancy Hutson Hale
Director, Education Services
SalesPage Technologies
http://www.salespage.com
Certified MAD for Flare
nhhale
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:24 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Flare 2020 MCDropDown image bug

Postby tagalong on Tue Oct 13, 2020 8:42 am

nhhale wrote:FWIW, I've logged this as a bug with MadCap, too.


Glad to know I'm not the only one. :)

Follow-up -- this is still unresolved for me, after going back and forth with MadCap help. In short, they recommended a rebuild of the project -- no small task, as it's over 3,500 pages. After an iterative process of deleting topics from the TOC I was able to single out one topic page that apparently triggered the problem. I suspect that something may have been corrupted in the TOC file, because as far as I can tell the page code was valid. But the issue has returned with a content update this week and I'm back to square one.
tagalong
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 12:25 pm

Re: Flare 2020 MCDropDown image bug

Postby superbilliken on Thu Jun 17, 2021 8:34 am

Did you get a bug ticket number or anything, like a priority, stastus, or position on the backlog?? Do we have any insight into reported bugs?
superbilliken
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2020 10:01 am

Re: Flare 2020 MCDropDown image bug

Postby nhhale on Wed Jun 23, 2021 7:47 am

Sorry, haven't been keeping up to date on the forums. In my case, I determined that letting Flare create glossary links for me as part of building a target was what triggered the issue with transparent.gif ending up in a new, wrong location in the 'built' Help. I created a CSS fix that worked in testing, but I should say that in the long run, I opted to stop autocreating glossary links and move old glossary content to new microcontent, as that let me include better formatting and cross references in term definitions, and still show the content highlighted at the top of appropriate search results.

Here's the CSS fix, in case it helps. As noted here, the compiler points the 'built' Help output to a location for transparent.gif that's outside the folder for that Help, so for me, I couldn't just put a transparent.gif in that location, as that would foul up version control for our software. After lots of poking, I determined that transparent.gif was used for spacing, so I created CSS to hide that image altogether and add spacing in a different way.
Code: Select all
/* First part of a fix for issues with bad path to transparent.gif, taken from MadCap forum comment here: */
/* https://forums.madcapsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=32201&p=139157&hilit=glossary */
/* Hides the transparent.gif used for a number of topic toolbar buttons, default glossary links, and dropdowns */

.print-button > img,
.expand-all-button > img,
.collapse-all-button > img,
.remove-highlight-button > img,
.MCHelpControl_Image_Icon,
.MCDropDown_Image_Icon
{
   display: none;
}

/* Second part of a fix for issues with bad path to transparent.gif */
/* Adds space before the link for dropdowns, so that the DropDownOpen.png and DropDownClosed.png have appropriate space from those links. */

a.MCHotSpotImage::before
{
   content: '\2000';
}
Nancy Hutson Hale
Director, Education Services
SalesPage Technologies
http://www.salespage.com
Certified MAD for Flare
nhhale
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:24 pm
Location: Michigan


Return to Flare's General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

cron