Getting "Error 404 -- Not Found" in FireFox 3.0

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets

Getting "Error 404 -- Not Found" in FireFox 3.0

Postby shabbirc on Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:14 pm

Hello,

We are using Madcap Flare 3.1 (Help Authoring Tool) to develop WebHelp for our application. I have an option selected "Show navigation link at top of topic" which displays a hyperlink at top of the page and when clicked, the Online Help Navigation is displayed for that page. After the online help is integrated with our application and if the user clicks on F1, the mapped topic is displayed correctly with the "Open topic with navigation" hyperlink at the top of the page. However, once the user clicks on the hyperlink, the "Error 404--Not Found" is displayed. This issue is being faced only in Mozilla Firefox 3 and not in IE 7.

Also the path of the page gets corrupted.

Example:

From - "http://pigalle:7016/help/compliance/Content/DC_Rules_List_Grid.htm"

To - " http://pigalle:7016/help/compliance/Con ... t_Grid.htm"

Instead it should have been - "http://pigalle:7016/help/compliance/index_CSH.htm#DC_Rules_List_Grid.htm"

Link_Error.gif


Is there a resolution or a workaround to this issue?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
shabbirc
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: Pune

Re: Getting "Error 404 -- Not Found" in FireFox 3.0

Postby KevinDAmery on Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:38 am

If you click on the link, does it work? The ellipsis in the middle is just a truncation for screen display purposes. The underlying URL should still be the same.
Until next time....
Image
Kevin Amery
Certified MAD for Flare
KevinDAmery
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1985
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:18 am
Location: Darn, I knew I was around here somewhere...

Re: Getting "Error 404 -- Not Found" in FireFox 3.0

Postby shabbirc on Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:45 pm

If I remove the ".." elipses and the "\" forward slash it works. The help opens with the navigation. But then, this has to be done maually. This issue only occurs in Firefox browser. It works flawlessly in Internet Explorer.
shabbirc
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: Pune


Return to Web-based Outputs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests