How do I set Capture v6.x to auto start (Startup) in Win7?

This Forum is for General Issues about Capture

How do I set Capture v6.x to auto start (Startup) in Win7?

Postby sdcinvan on Wed Sep 04, 2013 2:51 pm

Hello all,

Short of dragging a shortcut into the StartUp menu (not even certain that would work), is there any way to force Capture to auto start with Windows?

I found nothing in either the online help nor the PDF documents.


Thank you.
Shawn in Vancouver, Canada
Main tools used: Flare 11.x, InDesign, Google Docs, Lectora, Captivate.
Report bugs: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/bugs.aspx ▪ Feature requests: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/featurerequest.aspx[/i]
User avatar
sdcinvan
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:46 am
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: How do I set Capture v6.x to auto start (Startup) in Win7?

Postby RamonS on Thu Sep 05, 2013 3:42 am

Drag the shortcut in the startup program group. The only other option is to write a batch file that starts the app with any parameters needed and create a scheduled task that runs on login.
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 4287
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:29 am
Location: The Electric City

Re: How do I set Capture v6.x to auto start (Startup) in Win7?

Postby sdcinvan on Thu Sep 05, 2013 3:10 pm

RamonS wrote:Drag the shortcut in the startup program group. The only other option is to write a batch file that starts the app with any parameters needed and create a scheduled task that runs on login.


I know it is such a minor thing but seems rather odd that MadCap 'forgot' to include something so obvious.

Actually, I am beginning to find a lot of little things that are awkward or strangely missing from each of the programs in the MadPak. Looks like I am going to need that feature request link on "speed dial". :lol:
Shawn in Vancouver, Canada
Main tools used: Flare 11.x, InDesign, Google Docs, Lectora, Captivate.
Report bugs: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/bugs.aspx ▪ Feature requests: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/featurerequest.aspx[/i]
User avatar
sdcinvan
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:46 am
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: How do I set Capture v6.x to auto start (Startup) in Win7?

Postby sdcinvan on Thu Sep 05, 2013 3:14 pm

I'll need to remember (posted for others):

MadCap Software Feature Requests: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/featurerequest.aspx

MadCap Software Bug Submission Form: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/bugs.aspx

Wish there was a request wish sticky (for each app forum) in order to vet out feature requests before submitting them. That would reduce the 'noise' or unnecessary requests sent to MadCap.
Shawn in Vancouver, Canada
Main tools used: Flare 11.x, InDesign, Google Docs, Lectora, Captivate.
Report bugs: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/bugs.aspx ▪ Feature requests: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/featurerequest.aspx[/i]
User avatar
sdcinvan
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:46 am
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: How do I set Capture v6.x to auto start (Startup) in Win7?

Postby SteveS on Thu Sep 05, 2013 4:12 pm

RamonS wrote:Drag the shortcut in the startup program group. The only other option is to write a batch file that starts the app with any parameters needed and create a scheduled task that runs on login.

You can also use task scheduler to add Capture as a start-up task. Probably the Microsoft preferred method...

The startup programs are pretty buried in Win7 and Win8.
Image
Steve
Life's too short for bad coffee, bad chocolate, and bad red wine.
SteveS
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1998
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:06 pm
Location: Adelaide, far side of the world ( 34°56'0.78\"S 138°46'44.28\"E).

Re: How do I set Capture v6.x to auto start (Startup) in Win7?

Postby sdcinvan on Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:49 pm

SteveS wrote:
RamonS wrote:Drag the shortcut in the startup program group. The only other option is to write a batch file that starts the app with any parameters needed and create a scheduled task that runs on login.

You can also use task scheduler to add Capture as a start-up task. Probably the Microsoft preferred method...

The startup programs are pretty buried in Win7 and Win8.


Good idea.
Either way... drag and drop shortcut into the startup folder OR use task scheduler. Both are acceptable and easy to do.

I'll do this once I figure out how to use this tool. I am beginning to think that Flare is easier to use than Capture. :oops:


Thanks everyone. :-)
Shawn in Vancouver, Canada
Main tools used: Flare 11.x, InDesign, Google Docs, Lectora, Captivate.
Report bugs: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/bugs.aspx ▪ Feature requests: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/featurerequest.aspx[/i]
User avatar
sdcinvan
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:46 am
Location: Vancouver, Canada


Return to Capture's General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests