Awful text in a transparent object

This Forum is for General Issues about Capture

Awful text in a transparent object

Postby DocuWil on Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:59 am

When I use text in an object and set its background transparent it looks awful in the topic.

Example:
transparency.png

The left object has a white background, the right one is set to be transparent.
Does anyone know why this happens? Or is there a fix? Or is it just a bug!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Wil Veenstra

Documentation and Training Centre
Infologic Nederland
(Using Flare 11.1.2, Capture 7.0.0 and Mimic 7.0.0 in Windows 10 64-bit)
User avatar
DocuWil
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 1:22 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Awful text in a transparent object

Postby servobot on Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:14 am

This happens to me too. Only setting a background color works for me.

MadCap support gave me this workaround. Whether they call it a bug or "works as designed," I am not sure.
servobot
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 1:16 pm

Re: Awful text in a transparent object

Postby SteveS on Sun Sep 15, 2013 3:58 pm

Back when I was doing a bit of web design work I would see the same effect occuring around images (such as buttons) when transparnt backgrounds were used. Quite often we would create an image with the same background colour as the target page and then use that colour for the transaparency. My guess is the problem relates in the blending between the background/ transparency and the object.

This was pre-Flare, so I'm not sure if something can be done by MadCap to overcome the problem (not defending MadCap, making an observation).
Image
Steve
Life's too short for bad coffee, bad chocolate, and bad red wine.
SteveS
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1998
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:06 pm
Location: Adelaide, far side of the world ( 34°56'0.78\"S 138°46'44.28\"E).

Re: Awful text in a transparent object

Postby DocuWil on Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:36 pm

You are right Steve.
When I create a transparent image and just put it on an HTML page (outside Flare) it is awful too.
so I'm not sure if something can be done by MadCap to overcome the problem

I could imagine that Flare would measure the background colour of the topic and then changes the background colour of the image automatically. However, what is the transparent colour?
I a lot of graphical programs you can define which colour should be transparent. That is not the case with Madcap Capture.
Wil Veenstra

Documentation and Training Centre
Infologic Nederland
(Using Flare 11.1.2, Capture 7.0.0 and Mimic 7.0.0 in Windows 10 64-bit)
User avatar
DocuWil
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 1:22 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to Capture's General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest