5 products, 7 manuals cross-referencing - ideas?

This forum is for Single-Sourcing your Flare content to multiple outputs.
Eric Lachance
Sr. Propeller Head

5 products, 7 manuals cross-referencing - ideas?

Post by Eric Lachance »

Hey all,

I'm currently using Flare to write the documentation for a new product we're launching mid-June which makes 1½ months to write the whole doc - thankfully it's a really simple software. The doc is linear simply because we don't have time to start planning the single-sourcing part and because I have no experience whatsoever writing or planning doc - I'm new at this job, with only technical support experience in my belt (it helps, I understand the clients!)

Our long-term plan however is to convert our existing software suite's documentation into a single-sourcing Flare project (or projects), as all parts of the suite interact with others in intricate ways. Single-sourcing should help us keep data management to a minimum by putting everything in one place.

There are a few issues that I can already foresee however, and I'd like to start thinking about that now. Perhaps others have run into similar situations (not a whole lot of 5+ software suites exist and I'm assuming a small percentage of that use MadCap's suite, but you can't blame a guy for tryin'!) and can help me understand things and plan ahead.

Cross-Referencing