Flare to "ordinary" Web pages — XHTML, or…?

This forum is for Single-Sourcing your Flare content to multiple outputs.
Phlawm53
Sr. Propeller Head

Flare to "ordinary" Web pages — XHTML, or…?

Post by Phlawm53 »

I have a customer who wants three types of single-sourced outputs:
  • PDF and HTML-based online help
  • Web pages that are part of a larger corporate Web site
I have experience using Flare to produce the first two targets. I have no experience using Flare to produce the third.

My first thought is that Flare's XHTML target might work.

Has anyone done any "Flare-to-Website" single-sourcing? If so, any guidance on the workflow, et cetera?

Cheers & thanks for your help,
Riley
LTinker68
Master Propellus Maximus

Re: Flare to "ordinary" Web pages — XHTML, or…?

Post by LTinker68 »

It depends on what you mean by part of the corporate website and if the HTML-based online help you mentioned you've done is the HTML Help (.chm) or the WebHelp output. You can certain stylize the WebHelp output to have your company's branding and look-and-feel, if not the actual layout structure. And even then, you might be able to simulate the layout structure to a certain extent.

So please provide some more details about what you want to do and how it's to be part of the corporate website.

Lisa
Eagles may soar, but weasels aren't sucked into jet engines.
Warning! Loose nut behind the keyboard.
Phlawm53
Sr. Propeller Head

Post by Phlawm53 »

Lisa:

What I'm thinking of is NOT an online help system of any sort.

Instead, it's "plain vanilla" HTML or XHTML content of the sort displayed as part of an ordinary Web page. For example, the prose on this page, but NOT the stuff necessary to create the entire page layout:

http://www.pwc.com/us/en/audit-assuranc ... ices.jhtml