How to position a table right of text?

This forum is for all Flare issues related to styles, stylesheets and XML.
Purple Helen
Propeller Head

How to position a table right of text?

Post by Purple Helen »

Hi - I am trying to position a small table to the right of a paragraph of text (rather than above or below the text).

I know you can do this with an image using "float right" - but is it also possible to do this (simply!) with a table?

I have found the "align" option in Table Properties, but that only moves the table, it doesn't allow text to the left of the table (so far as I can see).

I suppose what I am really asking is: is it possible to get text to flow around a table?

I am a writer, not a techie, so if you can help, please explain in words of one syllable! :? (If it requires complex coding, I'll have to hand over to my webmaster)

Many thanks

Helen
Nita Beck
Senior Propellus Maximus

Re: How to position a table right of text?

Post by Nita Beck »

Hi Helen. It's definitely possible to float at table, though it's not (at first) as easy as floating an image. The gist of the technique is to wrap the table within a div, and it is the div that is floated left or right, through CSS.

First, add a div class to your stylesheet. Call it something like div.FloatRight. If you are working in Flare's Stylesheet Editor, you want to look for the float property, which you should set to right. You might also set a left margin or left padding in order to allow for a little white space between the text to the left and the table to the right. If you're working directly in the stylesheet via the Internal Text Editor, it will look something like this:

Code: Select all

div.FloatRight
{
	float: right;
	margin-left: 10px;
}