Creating/saving a .chm file

This forum is for all Flare issues not related to any of the other categories.
adrianaharper
Propeller Head

Creating/saving a .chm file

Post by adrianaharper »

Hi everyone,

I am brand new to Flare and I am looking to just create a simple .chm file. However, when I go to save or create an output I don't see .chm as a file output type. Can someone help me?

Thanks in advance,
Adriana
Nita Beck
Senior Propellus Maximus

Re: Creating/saving a .chm file

Post by Nita Beck »

Welcome to the forums. :)

The official name of.chm output is Microsoft HTML Help, discussed here: http://webhelp.madcapsoftware.com/flare ... Output.htm

HTH
Nita
RETIRED, but still fond of all the Flare friends I've made. See you around now and then!
adrianaharper
Propeller Head

Post by adrianaharper »

Hi Nita, thanks for the link and for getting back to me so fast! Sorry - so this probably sounds really dumb. So I understand that the official name is Microsoft HTML Help; but is there an actual file type that Flare outputs with a .chm extension? Or when I generate or save a help file as online help, it creates a .html file and that is what is called a 'chm' so there is no such thing as an actual .chm file type? For example - I have a colleague who works remotely who has asked me to save my file as a .chm file and then put it on our network so he can open it with his Flare instance... how do I do this?

Thanks again in advance.
Adriana
Nita Beck
Senior Propellus Maximus

Post by Nita Beck »

Please read the topic I pointed you to. But the short answer is that MS HTML output IS a single, compiled file whose extension is .chm. So your target type will be called HTML Help and Flare will generate a .chm file.

BTW, one does not need Flare to view a .chm file.

(Sorry I am being so brief. I am traveling...)
Nita
RETIRED, but still fond of all the Flare friends I've made. See you around now and then!
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus

Post by RamonS »