Integrated site and project search

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets
andywalton7
Jr. Propeller Head

Integrated site and project search

Post by andywalton7 »

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Flare's HTML output so apologies if this question is facile or has been answered a million times ( I did search before posting, honest...).

My company is looking to migrate our current Robohelp WebHelp into our clients-only website (password-protected and with no external crawling allowed). I'm planning to create a new project using the Top Nav skin.

The powers that be are very keen that the new help integrate as seamlessly as possible with the existing site. As such, I'm looking for a search solution that will return results from both the project itself and the site in which it sits, so that we can search the project from the site and (ideally) vice versa.

Does anyone have any experience of setting this up? If so, what search tools did you use?

The site is currently undergoing a refit, so we have some scope to introduce new technologies if required. Hosting locations for the help haven't yet been decided - we can host it in the same location as the site if needed.

Thanks,

Andy
GregStenhouse
Sr. Propeller Head

Re: Integrated site and project search

Post by GregStenhouse »

The easiest solution is a search box in the app that captures the text input and sends it to the help system's search page in a new tab. Perhaps by default the search box searches the site, and there is an adjacent checkbox that says "Search Help" or similar. This won't be integrated with the site search though, i.e. help results and site results won't appear in the same list.