Showing different content from a single HTML page?

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets
elin_decker
Propeller Head

Showing different content from a single HTML page?

Post by elin_decker »

I'm a total newbie with Flare, so my apologies if this is all very basic!

Can I have a single HTML page with a long list of documents that are tagged with conditions, and let the users select which set (condition) of docs to view? I'm trying to avoid having a separate HTML page for each condition.
trent the thief
Propellus Maximus

Re: Showing different content from a single HTML page?

Post by trent the thief »

Hi Elin,

Sorry, Flare isn't able to do that on it's own.

But depending on your goal there are other approaches. Homer Christensen did a flitering system in flare that could work for you. It's based on the glossary.

https://www.madcapsoftware.com/blog/cre ... -snippets/
Trent.

Certifiable.

umm...
I meant MAD Certified.

Official Propeller Beanie Owner :-)

:flare: Are you on Flare's Slack channels? PM me for an invitation! :flare:
elin_decker
Propeller Head

Post by elin_decker »

Trent, I appreciate the link to the filtering system info. That looks like a great solution, but a bit advanced for me at the moment. Once we've migrated into Flare I'll have more time to play around with it. :) Thanks!
NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus

Post by NorthEast »

In short, it's definitely possible, but Flare has nothing built-in that will handle dynamically showing/hiding content in the output.

The basic idea is that you mark/tag the content with something like a condition tag, or a class or ID - something that you can actually see in the HTML code in your output. (Conditions work here because you can see them in the HTML output as 'data-mc-conditions' attributes.)
Then you write some JavaScript that shows/hides the content that you've marked.