Who is outputting directly to PDF?

This forum is for all Flare issues related to PDF, eBook, Microsoft Word, Adobe FrameMaker, XPS, and XHTML book targets.
garyjgeoaccess
Sr. Propeller Head

Who is outputting directly to PDF?

Post by garyjgeoaccess »

Just curious ...

How many people are now outputting directly to PDF?

We are in the process of converting to PDF output. We'll probably still be using FrameMaker to a limited degree for the next few months. But our goal is to completely move away from FrameMaker and do our print output from Flare in PDF format. I've been generating PDF for all my docs for about three months now. The rest of our technical writing team is now starting to prepare their projects for PDF output.

Before, we had to do a lot of post output work in FrameMaker. Several hours worth of cleanup every time we did a build. Now, we've eliminated the post build cleanup. This is huge.

I'm wondering are others going this same route?

Best,
Gary Johnson
ccardimon
Propellus Maximus

Re: Who is outputting directly to PDF?

Post by ccardimon »

Over here (raising hand).
Craig

Lost in Disturbia
LTinker68
Master Propellus Maximus

Post by LTinker68 »

I'm outputting directly to PDF. I never had FrameMaker, so previous to Flare v4 I had been outputting to Word and then using Distiller to make the PDF. I much prefer bypassing Word now because you can do a lot more with the layout for PDF output than you can for Word output. The only post-processing I do is to hide the bookmarks pane and add info to the file properties, features which will hopefully be added in the near future in Flare, since at the moment you can only make those mods if you have Adobe Acrobat.

Lisa
Eagles may soar, but weasels aren't sucked into jet engines.
Warning! Loose nut behind the keyboard.
ccardimon
Propellus Maximus

Post by ccardimon »

LTinker68 wrote:The only post-processing I do is to hide the bookmarks pane and add info to the file properties
Might I ask how this is done?