Deep linking js error in browser console

This forum is for all Flare issues not related to any of the other categories.
Post Reply
amitkapoor
Propeller Head
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:23 am

Deep linking js error in browser console

Post by amitkapoor »

Hi All,

I have suddenly started receiving this error in my project when I open the output in the browser. My Flare is up-to-date and is the latest version. Any clues?

Code: Select all

Uncaught TypeError: can't access property "deepLinking", _this.options is null
    _events file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/foundation.6.2.3_custom.js:1968
    jQuery 11
    _events file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/foundation.6.2.3_custom.js:1967
    _init file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/foundation.6.2.3_custom.js:1924
    Magellan file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/foundation.6.2.3_custom.js:1892
    i file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:183
    jQuery 2
    i file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:183
    e file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:183
    l file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:183
    h file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:57
    s file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:22
    setTimeout handler*MadCap.Utilities.Debounce/< file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:22
    jQuery 7
    c file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:176
    Init file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:85
    CreateToc file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:85
    LoadTocChildren file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:85
    LoadTocNode file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:85
    jQuery 9
    LoadTocChunk file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js:64
    execCb file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/require.min.js:119
    check file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/require.min.js:62
    enable file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/require.min.js:92
    init file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/require.min.js:51
    g file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/require.min.js:104
    setTimeout handler*h.nextTick< file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/require.min.js:127
    g file:///D:/Flare_Project_Location/Output/AmitK/myprojectABC/Resources/Scripts/require.min.js:104
Last edited by amitkapoor on Sat Mar 05, 2022 9:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
amitkapoor
Propeller Head
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:23 am

Re: Deep linking js error in browser console

Post by amitkapoor »

On diagnosing- it came out to be the menu proxy. If I use the default config for menu proxy, it works fine. But when I change it to display only headings, this error shows up. What am I doing wrong or missing?
NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 6375
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am

Re: Deep linking js error in browser console

Post by NorthEast »

I see the same in my projects.
Report it as a bug to MadCap.
amitkapoor
Propeller Head
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:23 am

Re: Deep linking js error in browser console

Post by amitkapoor »

Interesting! I have reported and waiting for their response. Thanks Dave!
amitkapoor
Propeller Head
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:23 am

Re: Deep linking js error in browser console

Post by amitkapoor »

MadCap team reverted saying the bug has been identified and they will work on it. However, I have not received any timeline on when this will be fixed and as a patch or in a release.
reserves
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2021 9:51 am

Re: Deep linking js error in browser console

Post by reserves »

Did this ever get resolved?

I have the exact same issue.
amitkapoor
Propeller Head
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:23 am

Re: Deep linking js error in browser console

Post by amitkapoor »

No. Not sure if they will resolve it or when. I didn't want to take any chances so I used tocbot instead which works flawlessly and offers much better control and customizations.

You can find it here: https://github.com/tscanlin/tocbot
Post Reply