Sharing chapters across multiple projects

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the Microsoft HTML Help target.
This target produces "CHM" files in the output.
chrisalley
Jr. Propeller Head

Sharing chapters across multiple projects

Post by chrisalley »

I'm documenting five applications with their own self-contained HTML Help files. The Help files are essentially online books with about 20 chapters each. However, many chapters are reused in various applications, with minor differences. Instead of copying a common chapter four times, I'd much rather have a single master version and pull it into each of the separate application Help projects.

I'm fairly new to Flare. I've talked to a couple of people, and here's what what I've gotten so far. I'd appreciate comments or suggestions from more experienced users.

1. For each of the common chapters, create it as a separate, standalone Flare project.

2. Make each of these common chapters self-contained, with no links outside the chapter.

3. For common chapters that have minor differences between the five applications, handle those with conditional text.

4. In the Flare project for each individual application, link a TOC book to the standalone project for the common chapter.

5. Make sure all the separate Flare projects use the same CSS.

As I wrote this, several questions came to mind:

* Do index entries in the common chapter show up in the resulting Help?

* Within an application, can you point context-sensitive links at a topic in a common chapter?

Is this really the best way to reuse chapters? Or is there a better solution? Sorry if this is similar to some existing postings.

Thanks,
Chris
wclass
Propellus Maximus

Re: Sharing chapters across multiple projects

Post by wclass »

Hi Chris,